DATE: December 8 at 12.30h

The ancient village of Sant Gervasi de Cassoles was located on the slopes of Tibidabo, between the mountains and the plain. Its rugged geography, with torrents and hills, explains why it remained sparsely populated for many years and did not have a powerful nucleus. The name Sant Gervasi comes from a small rural church dedicated to this saint and it is believed that the toponym Cassoles is a contraction of cases soles (single houses). In the 10th century it was part of the municipality of Sarrià, until 1714 when it was declared an autonomous municipality. Its first town council was constituted in 1727 and, in 1897, it was annexed to Barcelona.

In the middle of the 19th century, Sant Gervasi was discovered by the Barcelona bourgeoisie and the first urbanizations began. Owners such as Mandri or Ganduxer gave their names to some of the streets they opened. In little more than fifty years it ceased to be a small peasant village and became a residential area with old manor houses, summer villas, houses of artisans, convents and religious schools, artisans and small rentiers.

The calmness of the Putxet hill, which still preserves some summer residences with tower and garden, contrasts with the density of the neighborhood of El Farró, whose popular character is evident through its streets and stores.

During the guided tour, we will have the opportunity to discover the history of the neighborhood; admire some of its most interesting buildings and corners and walk along the Putxet hill.



DEPARTURE PLACE Plaça Joaquim Folguera (FGC Putxet station exit)
DAY AND HOUR Tuesday, December 8, 2020. 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
HOW TO FIND US Plaça Joaquim Folguera (FGC Putxet station exit)
Tour with official guide

Tour Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Leave a Review